Our school community

Green, pink, yellow, and blue rings overlapping in a line.

Membership in Milestone

If a decision affects you, you should have a say in it.

Students, families, and staff are legally guaranteed the right to vote on issues affecting our school, and to elect our Governance Board, because they are Members of the school under our Bylaws. Community stakeholders can also apply for membership as “Friends of Milestone,” so long as they believe in and support the mission of our school.

Are you interested in joining Milestone as a Friend, to support our work and to volunteer? Email the Governance Board for an application!

An organization of connected circles

Our Educators' Cooperative has adopted Sociocracy

A school is a complex place. There are many different aims to be met, and many different domains to work in. How can we exemplify both participatory democracy and efficiency? Sociocracy is a way of organizing democratic entities to be clear about who is empowered to decide what. You can find our Sociocratic Organization Chart on the Knowledge Base.

The School Design Team

Continuous re-design of our school, led by youth

Milestone’s School Design Team makes all decisions about what our school will be like. The Design Team is randomly selected by sortition from volunteers from the student body,  caregivers/guardians, and the staff. All decisions made by the Design Team are by consensus, so everyone’s voice is heard. They publish their work in the School Plan.
The current Design Team is made up of students, staff, and parents. They are working on Iteration 2.0 of the School Plan, to be published no later than August of 2022.

The Governance Board

The vision-holders and keepers of legal and fiduciary responsibility

The Board of Directors of Milestone is also known as our Charter School Governance Board. The current Board was elected by the membership of Milestone in December of 2021 and will server through December of 2022. Click a name to email a member of the Board directly.

Headshot for Dale Gardner

J. Dale Gardner

Board Member

Headshot for Stefano O.

Stefano Oviedo

Board Member

Dark pink outline of a human head

Jess Bernstein

Board Member

Green outline of a human head

Beth Fettig

Board Member

Blue outline of a human head

Jo Bernstein

Board Member

The Educators' Cooperative

Advisors, administrators, and staff

The staff of Milestone is interviewed and hired by the Design Team, and then they organize themselves into an independent, democratic, worker-owned cooperative. As a #TeacherPowered school, the Educators’ Co-op manages and operates the school by sharing administrative duties between themselves. Click a name to email any EC member directly, or contact the EC Leadership Circle.

Headshot for Alexis G.

Alexis Gardner

alexis.gardner@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Kane M.

Kane McDermott

kane.mcdermott@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Ben T.

Ben Temeyer

ben.temeyer@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Sam H.

Sam Hsieh

sam.hsieh@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Christina C.

Christina Calcese

christina.calcese@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Sarah W.

Sarah Weinstock

sarah.weinstock@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Art R.

Art Richardson

art.richardson@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Sarah B.

Sarah Wilkening

sarah.wilkening@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Janice S.

Janice Schreiber-Poznik

janice@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Kate F.

Kate Freedman

kate.freedman@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Sean A.

Sean Anderson

sean.anderson@milestonedemocratic.org

Headshot for Stefano O.

Stefano Oviedo

stefano.oviedo@milestonedemocratic.org

Friends of Milestone

Volunteers from our communities

Some community stakeholder members of Milestone volunteer to serve as “Friends of Milestone.” Friends make themselves available to support the Design Team, the Educators’ Co-op, and the Board with their expertise, guidance, time, and energy. Thank you, Friends!
en_USEN